Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.

Meet our board members

Meet our board members

Parry Agius

Parry was appointed as the Chair for the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board in February 2020.

Parry has a strong background in community development, native title, natural resource management and primary industries. He is currently the Managing Director of Linking Futures and a member of the Aboriginal Lands Trust Board.

He has an Associate Diploma in Aboriginal Affairs, a Bachelor of Arts (Aboriginal Affairs) and is an accredited Cultural Safety Trainer. In 2000, Parry was awarded the first Prime Minster's Centenary Medal for his work with Aboriginal people and in 2013 was recognised by Macquarie University as an Honorary Associate. He is a strong advocate for socio-economic benefits for Aboriginal people and his career spans nearly 30 years cementing partnerships between Indigenous groups, government and industry.

Parry was the Presiding Member of the Alinytjara Wilurara NRM Board from 2011 to February 2019 and before that a member since 2008.

Meet our board members

Michael Haynes

Far West Coast

Michael was appointed to the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board in February 2020 having been a member of the AW NRM Board since 2013 including as Presiding Member from February 2019 to February 2020. Michael is a descendant of Kokatha and Mirning tribes and currently resides in Ceduna.

Michael represents the Far West Coast areas on the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board. He has a solid history of governance roles including Acting Deputy State Manager and Ceduna Regional Manager of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission between 1986 and 1997. Mr Haynes retired in late 2017 as the CEO of Ceduna Aboriginal Corporation, where he reported to an all Aboriginal Board.

Meet our board members

Peter Miller

West Coast

Peter was appointed to the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board had been a member of the AW NRM Board since 2016.

Peter has been and remains actively involved in the community as both an Elder and Community Leader. His past roles include Chairperson of various boards locally, and a role in the Executive Aboriginal Health Council. Peter has a vision for better socio-economic outcomes for people of the Far West Coast through the various Indigenous Land Use Agreements and Co-management of Parks. Peter believes that opportunities for Far West Coast members, places the community in a stronger position for the future.

Peter has been Executive Chairperson of Aboriginal Health Council of SA, and signed the first Framework Agreement between the State and Federal Government in Australia in 1996 in relation to Aboriginal health problems in the state. He has had a role with the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation, National Rural Health Alliance, and Ceduna Koonibba Aboriginal Health Service. Peter is Chair of Ceduna Aboriginal Corporation.

In 2022, Peter was named NAIDOC SA Male Elder of the Year.

Meet our board members

Kristy Richards

Aboriginal Lands Trust

In February 2020, Kristy was appointed to the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board. Originally nominated by the Aboriginal Lands Trust, she had been a member of the AW NRM Board since April 2016.

Kristy is of Wirangu, Kokatha, Mirning, Anangu, and Adnyamathanha decent and was raised in the Yalata area on Colona sheep station. Kristy’s families have strong ties to the Alinytjara Wilurara region. Her family membership spans from Ceduna (Far West Coast Traditional Lands), west to Yalata, north to Maralinga, and across to Tjuntjuntjara in WA.

Kristy has an understanding of culture and land management practices that have been passed down to her through generations, and has a strong connection with her people from the Far West Coast to Oak Valley, and Western Australia.

Meet our board members

Julie O'Toole


Julie was appointed to the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board in February 2020.

Originally nominated by the Antarkarinja Matu-Yankunytjutjara Aboriginal Corporation she had been a member of the AW NRM Board in 2018. She is also a current member of the Breakaways Conservation Park Co-management Board which includes management of Tallaringa Conservation Park. In this capacity she is an active member of the Tallaringa Healthy Country Planning Group.

Having an in-depth knowledge of Country around the Coober Pedy area and traditional knowledge of culture and fire regimes she is a valued deputy member of the Outback Bushfire Coordination Committee member.

Meet our board members

Debbie Hansen

Tjuntjuntjara Community

Debbie was appointed to the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board in February 2020 having been on the AW NRM Board since 2015.

Debbie lives in Tjuntjuntjara Community in the Great Victoria Desert, Western Australia and represents the Oak Valley Community and Maralinga Tjarutja lands. Debbie has a strong interest in land management particularly; playing a leading role in connecting natural and cultural heritage management; speaking for community and connection to community and government in order to influence policy directions around natural and cultural heritage management; ensuring there are opportunities provided for young people of the Alinytjara Wilurara region in working in and looking after country; learning and leading in governance and leadership, passing this information onto younger community members; ensuring that looking after country is done by both men and women on both sides of the border that divides the Great Victoria Desert.

Debbie’s experience with Boards and Committees also includes: Director, Pila Nguru Aboriginal Corporation; Chairperson Spinifex Art Project Aboriginal Corporation; Director, Maralinga Tjarutja; Member Co-management Board, Paupiyala Tjarutja Aboriginal Corporation.

Meet our board members

Sally Scales

Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands

Sally was appointed to the new Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board in February 2020 after having been on the AW NRM Board since August 2017.

In August 2019, she became the Chair of the APY Lands Executive.

Born in Pipalyatjara Community, Sally is a confident young leader who is eager and willing to learn. Sally is keen to make a difference in her community and across the Lands, particularly in the areas of governance, education and employment, encouraging service providers to work together, and boards and management working with key stakeholders.

Meet our board members

Duane Edwards


Duane was appointed to the Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape Board in June 2022.

He has extensive experience as a community leader. He is Chair of the Yalata Aboriginal Corporation and is also a member of numerous boards and organisations, including the Far West Coast Aboriginal Corporation, Maralinga Piling Trust and Tullawon Health Service, and is a past member of the Maralinga Tjarutja Council.

Duane has been involved in Healthy Country Planning for the Yalata IPA, and has been involved in cultural water protection and management and establishing primary production in Colona and Pintumbie areas of the Yalata Lands.

He lives in Yalata and works towards caring for Country, making it a better place for his people into the future.