Monitoring South Australian River Murray wetlands and floodplains

What is wetland monitoring?

Ongoing wetland monitoring is essential to understanding the biological and physical responses of wetlands to different wetting cycles over time.

Wetland monitoring is carried out by the Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board Wetlands and Floodplains Team in partnership with local action planning associations, landcare associations and community groups at a number of managed wetlands within the Murraylands and Riverland region.

Parameters monitored at wetlands include:

  • surface water quality
  • groundwater level and salinity (electrical conductivity)
  • photo points
  • tree condition
  • vegetation
  • birds, frogs and fish.

Why is it important to monitor wetlands?

Wetlands are productive ecosystems with a high biodiversity value. They are home to many threatened and iconic species, and provide a number of valuable ecosystem services.

Monitoring wetlands provides us with the information to make decisions about what things need to be done to improve the condition of the wetland.

Active management will maintain or improve the condition of remaining wetlands. Things like artificial wetting and drying, removing pest plants and animals, and fencing to protect vulnerable areas will help to protect these precious wetland areas.

A number of wetlands are monitored by Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board Wetlands and Floodplains Team. Monitoring summaries are available for the following wetlands and will be available on the relevant local action planning (LAP) or landcare association websites:

Riverland West Landcare

  • Brenda Park/Scotts Creek Wetland Complex
  • Hart Lagoon
  • Murbpook Lagoon
  • Ramco Lagoon
  • Wigley Reach

Berri Barmera LAP

  • Loveday Mussel Lagoons Wetland Complex
  • Martins Bend Wetland Complex
  • Overland Corner
  • Spectacle Lakes-Beldora Lagoon

Renmark to Border LAP

  • Bookmark Creek
  • Murtho Park Wetland Complex
  • Whirlpool Corner
  • Wiela

Loxton to Bookpurnong LAP

  • Yatco Lagoon

Eastern Hills and Murray Plains Catchment Group

  • Reedy Creek Wetland
  • Paiwalla Wetland

Mid-Murray LAP

  • Devon Downs South
  • Noonawirra Wetland
  • Sweeney’s Lagoon
  • Morgan’s Lagoon
  • Sugar Shack Pangki

Coorong and Tatiara LAP

  • Teringie

Lead agency

Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board

Funding partners

This project is jointly funded through the Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board and the Australian Government’s National Landcare Program.

 National Landcare Program logo


More information

  • Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board
    110A Mannum Road, Murray Bridge SA 5253
    08 8532 9100