Landscape Levy

What is the Landscape Levy?

The Landscape South Australia Act 2019 provides for a regional (land-based) Landscape levy and a water levy to provide additional funding for the SA Arid Lands (SAAL) Landscape Board to take care of our landscape management for future generations and to deliver on its commitments under the Regional Landscape Plan.

Who pays the Landscape levy?

All landowners (including lessees) in the SAAL region pay the regional Landscape levy. The water levy is payable on water allocated to the mining, energy, gas and petroleum sector (collectively called industrial licences), for town water suppliers, irrigators and for commercial operations, such as tourist park operators in the Far North Wells Prescribed Area. The water levy is not payable on water licences held for stock and domestic use.

How will your Landscape levy be spent?

The regional (land-based) Landscape levy and water levy contribute to the Board’s delivery of its Regional Landscape Plan and programs supporting our community, townships and diverse industries. Activities include pest plant and animal monitoring and research and control; wild dog management; property planning; support for enterprise diversification; community participation in deciding and delivering programs, training and support through field days, events and workshops; climate change adaptation planning, Aboriginal skills and capacity development and involvement of Traditional owners and traditional ecological knowledge in landscape management, water allocation planning; catchment and springs monitoring and management; and water affecting activity permits.

Your Landscape Levy at work outlines some of our achievements in the last financial year.

Who collects the Landscape levy?

Local councils collect the regional (land-based) Landscape levy annually from their ratepayers and forward the collected funds to the Board. The levy is shown separately on council rates notices. The Department for Environment and Water (DEW) collects the regional (land-based) Landscape levy from outside council areas. DEW also collects the water levy from water licence holders.

Visit here for more information about the 2020/21 out-of-council levy collection currently underway. 

How are Landscape rates determined?

The Board identifies the key Landscape priorities within the region in partnership with its stakeholders, and through its Business Plan review, it recommends the amount of funding to be raised through the levy. The Minister for Environment and Water reviews the recommendations made by the Board before adopting the Business Plan.  

In out-of-council areas the land-based levy is based on area of rateable land with levy amounts set for:

<10 ha

>10ha - <100 ha

 >100ha - <100,000 ha

 >100,000 ha 

For residents in council areas it is a fixed charge per rateable property and set to align with residents of outside council areas who own less than 10 hectares.

These arrangements mean those with more land pay more than those with less land – so a pastoral lessee pays more than a township property owner.