Domestic Livestock

Domestic Livestock

There are official requirements that need to be met when you choose to keep livestock animals captive. If you keep one or more of the following livestock species on your property, you must register your property and obtain a Property Identification Code (PIC).

A PIC is required for keeping:

  • horses, donkeys or mules;
  • cattle, buffalo or bison;
  • sheep;
  • pigs;
  • deer;
  • goats; or
  • alpacas, llamas or camels.

A requirement of the Department for Primary Industries and Regions SA (PIRSA), the PIC records:

  • the people responsible for keeping the livestock
  • blocks of land on which the livestock are kept
  • the species of livestock being held
  • the number of each species held on a property.

Having a registered PIC enables PIRSA to contact and assist you if there are livestock disease outbreaks, bushfires or floods or other animal emergencies.

If you need to register or update your property or have any questions on PIC numbers, head to or call 1800 654 688.

This information also assists SA Arid Lands Landscape Board staff understand which and where non-native animals are being kept, which is important when surveying and determining populations of invasive non-native species.

All current or potential livestock owners have the responsibility to ensure livestock are kept within their property boundaries. For some animals, such as pigs and goats, there are strict requirements relating to their ownership, movement and sale. If you have any questions or concerns around domestic livestock requirements please contact one of SAAL's Biosecurity Officers.

All sellers and buyers of animals have the responsibility to ensure they understand the requirements that go with keeping and breeding livestock to protect our native environment and livestock industry from the potential spread of invasive species and the diseases that they can spread and harbour.

Failure to register, contain or report these animals could result in penalties as outlined under the Landscape South Australia Act 2019 and the Livestock Act 1997.