Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.


The Alinytjara Wilurara Landscape region is home to approximately 4000 people and covers more than 250,000 square kilometres in the north west quarter of South Australia. It stretches from the Northern Territory and West Australian borders south into the Great Australian Bight, including the state waters (three nautical miles off-shore). This huge region has been divided into nine sub-landscapes, each with distinct characteristics. This enables a more focused approach to be taken to planning, working on problems and reporting.

The nine sub-landscapes are:

NOTE: Since transition July 2020, Parks and reserves in the region are managed by National Parks and Wildlife with land management support provided by the AW Landscape Board.


Access to this region may require a pass or permit. Visitors should also be aware that there are safety issues specific to the region.