New Board for Eyre Peninsula landscape management

News article |

The Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board has welcomed the start of new Board term including five new members and three continuing.

Former Member for Flinders, Peter Treloar who runs a farming enterprise at Edillilie, is the new Chair of the Board. Joining him are:

  • Mark Dennis from Koppio
  • Helen Lamont from Point Boston
  • Debbie May from Elliston (continuing member)
  • Justine Major from Buckleboo (continuing member)
  • Kate McShane from Port Lincoln
  • Steven Milner from Denial Bay (continuing member)
  • Alan Tingay from Coffin Bay

“I’m genuinely thrilled to take on the role of Presiding member. I look forward to working with the Board and Eyre Peninsula community in assisting to manage and enhance the environment that sustains us all,” says Peter Treloar.

Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board General Manager, Jonathan Clark, says he is looking forward to working with this new Board on Eyre Peninsula’s five landscape management priorities including water, sustainable agriculture, pests, biodiversity and community.

The new Board came into effect from February 1, following appointment of nominees by Minister for Climate, Environment and Water, Susan Close.

“South Australia’s landscape boards are vital in helping manage and protect our productive and natural landscapes,” Minister Close says.

“I welcome new members and existing members who have shown a genuine commitment to landscape management in their respective regions.

“I would also like to thank outgoing members for their valuable contributions and wish them well for the future.”

Mr Clark also extends his thanks to those Board members who have now finished up their term with the Board - Meagan Turner from Cowell, Tony Irvine from Port Lincoln and inaugural Chair, Mark Whitfield from Whyalla. He says:

“Mark was our inaugural Chair for the Landscape Board and chaired the previous NRM Board since June 2018. Mark has been on the Board(s) for over 12 years and has served the community diligently through this period. He led significant reforms with board governance and continued the excellent work of his predecessors, in improving our relationship with local stakeholders.

“Meagan has been a valued member of the Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board and previous Natural Resources Management Board for six years. Meagan’s knowledge and passion for coastal and marine environments have proved invaluable. Meagan’s nurturing and positive input towards our Board will be missed and we wish her well in her newly appointed position on the South Australian Oyster Research Council as a Director.

“Tony’s extensive experience in the local government sector and history with working with various Natural Resources Management organisations, has provided the Board with a broader network and understanding of developing and maintaining strong relationships with local government. Tony’s knowledge and genuine nature will be missed. We wish Tony well in all future endeavours.”

New Board for Eyre Peninsula landscape management
Outgoing members Mark Whitfield, Tony Irvine and Meagan Turner.

More stories

  1. Eyre Peninsula Grassroots Grants awarded

    News article | 17 Jul. 2024
  2. Eradicating white weeping broom

    News article | 04 Jul. 2024
  3. Local fishers encouraged to round up yabby traps

    News article | 05 Jun. 2024