Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.

Meet our members

Mark Whitfield has been appointed by the Minister for Environment and Water as the Chair of the Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board.

Mark is supported by five other Board members from locations across the Eyre Peninsula. All members have been appointed by the Minister.

This Board meets throughout the year to review the work being undertaken by the Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board.

mark whitfield presiding member photo

Mark Whitfield

Chair, Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board

Mark has lived in Whyalla since 2001, working as a consultant with community organisations and small not-for-profit organisations. Previous to this he worked as the Executive Manager of the Spencer Gulf Rural Health School.

He has also worked in a number of other roles in regional development, health and education in Whyalla, the Eyre Peninsula, in the far north of the state and in local government.

He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an associate fellow of the Australian Institute of Management. Mark has also volunteered on a variety of community organisation boards and currently a member of the Flinders and Upper North Local Health Network Board and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

He is the immediate past Chair of the Eyre Peninsula Natural Resources Board.


Meagan Turner

Meagan Turner is a co-owner and Director of Turners Oyster Farm in Cowell. Meagan hails from a fifth generation farming family and has previously worked as a Clinical Dietitian prior to moving to the Eyre Peninsula in 2008.

Meagan is an active member of the South Australian Oyster Growers Association and has strong ties with oyster growers, government and the seafood industry more generally.

Meagan is strongly committed to the management of the coastal and marine environments and has a genuine interest in her fellow community member’s livelihoods and wellbeing.


Tony Irvine

Tony currently lives in Port Lincoln. He has extensive experience in the local government sector having been the Chief Executive Officer at the District Councils of Ceduna and Tumby Bay and his most recent role as Executive Officer to the Eyre Peninsula Local Government Association.

Tony has had an extensive history working in partnership with various Natural Resources Management organisations on Eyre Peninsula and understands the importance of a strong relationship with local government.

Tony is strongly committed to the Eyre Peninsula community as demonstrated by his involvement in many community and sporting organisations including currently being chair of the Eyre Peninsula Football and Netball Council.

Justine Majors board profile image

Justine Major

Justine runs a mixed farming enterprise with her husband approximately 20km north-west of Kimba. As a farmer, Justine acknowledges that care and management of the landscape are an essential element of farming businesses.

In addition to farming, Justine has extensive experience in the finance and business service sector with qualifications in financial planning and business, as well as holding a Master of Sustainable Agriculture and business.


Dr Steven Milner

Steve is a resident of Denial Bay, near Ceduna and is passionate about researching caves, palaeontology, and anthropology of the Nullarbor. He has a PhD and MBA from the University of Adelaide and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Project Management.

Steve is an expert in management, leadership, strategy and governance in a broad range of sectors and industries and has a proven track record in the delivery of complex and large projects, stakeholder engagement, and organisational development.

He currently lectures on Leadership and Stakeholder Engagement at the University of Adelaide. Steve values the natural environment of the Eyre Peninsula and Far West and has broad networks in the region.


Debbie May

Debbie, along with her husband, has been farming in the Elliston district for more than 30 years and are founding members of the Elliston and Districts Landcare Group (1989).

The group has delivered extensive Landcare projects including regeneration, revegetation, wind and water erosion control as well as administering large initiatives protecting and conserving the important remnant Sheoak grassy woodlands of the region.

Debbie is an elected member of the District Council of Elliston, and has served on a range of community organisations, including being the Chairperson and Manager of the Elliston Community and Visitor Centre.

More information

Manager Planning and Engagement

86 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln

8688 3200