Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.

About landscape management

What is landscape management?

The sustainable management of our precious landscapes – soil, water, pest plants and animals, and biodiversity – is the responsibility of all South Australians.

By working together we can support our landscapes to thrive and build resilience to, and recover from, natural disasters like drought and bushfire. Among other benefits, it also helps to promote prosperous long-term businesses, thriving native species and ecosystems and resilient communities.

In 2020, the South Australian Government reformed how our landscapes are managed by putting community at the heart of sustainably managing their regions’ natural resources, with the support and expertise of local landscape boards. View the policy overview.

Underpinning this approach is the Landscape South Australia Act 2019 (the Act), which repealed the Natural Resources Management Act 2004 on 1 July 2020.

Eight regional landscape boards and a metropolitan board, Green Adelaide, administers the Act across nine landscape management regions.

The boards support local communities and land managers to be directly responsible for managing their region’s natural resources with an emphasis on land and water management, biodiversity and pest animal and plant control.

They also partner with government and regional communities to deliver a strong, back-to-basics system that’s autonomous and flexible in response to their regions’ needs.

Landscape Boards

There are nine landscape management regions in South Australia, governed by eight landscape boards and a metropolitan board, Green Adelaide.

The landscape boards work alongside, Green Adelaide, which provides an integrated approach to managing Adelaide’s urban environment.

Landscape boards consist of seven members, including a chair. All Eyre Peninsula members have been appointed by the Minister.

The boards work alongside community members and stakeholders to develop simple and accessible five-year regional landscape plans with five priorities. The plans aims to ensure that there is a balance between the needs of regional communities and the sustainable management of the environment.

Other key functions include development of water allocation plans for prescribed water resources, where applicable, and operating as the relevant authority for a range of water, land protection and animal and plant control activities.

More information

Manager Planning and Engagement

86 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln

8688 3200