Regional Landscape Planning

The regional plan for the Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board, sets the 10 year direction for landscape management for the Eyre Peninsula region.

In July 2020, a new way of managing South Australian landscapes was welcomed with the Landscape South Australia Act 2019 replacing the former Natural Resources Management Act 2004. Given this change, and the appointment of the new Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board, the 2017-2027 regional plan (strategic plan) has been updated to a new Regional Landscape Plan for the Eyre Peninsula.

Having been through extensive consultation with the Eyre Peninsula community for the 2017-27 plan, we built on that past engagement and re-mapped priorities identified by our community, to align with the new legislation.

The Eyre Peninsula community was invited to submit feedback about the draft Eyre Peninsula Regional Landscape Plan from February 26 to March 29, 2021. Consultation feedback has been taken into consideration and the draft plan is now with the Minister for the Environment and Water for final approval.

The draft plan, and supporting documents, outline the region’s key landscape requirements and the programs that will deliver the aims of the priority areas.

Our guiding documents

The Strategic Plan (2017-2027) 

While our new regional landscape plan is being finalised, the Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board has adopted the Eyre Peninsula Regional NRM plan 2017-27 as its regional landscape plan, under Schedule 5, Division 4, clauses 93 and 94 of the Landscape South Australia Act 2019.

The Draft 2021-2026 Eyre Peninsula Regional Landscape Plan is with the Minister for the Environment and Water for approval.

The draft plan sets the vision and priorities for the region to achieve sustainable landscape management. It focuses on the priority areas of water, sustainable agriculture, pest plants and animals, biodiversity and community, which were set out by the Minister for the Environment and Water when the landscape boards were established in July 2020.

The Business Plan

Our 2021-22 Business Plan, outlines the programs that the Board will invest in for the next 12 months, to achieve our strategic areas. It includes details of income and expenditure and landscape levy information.

Subregional descriptions

The Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board region covers an area of 80,000 square kilometres. It extends from Whyalla in the east, along the Gawler Ranges in the north, to the edge of the Nullarbor Plain in the west. The region includes over 3,000 kilometres of coastline spanning from the upper Spencer Gulf to the Great Australian Bight, including 182 offshore islands.

As part of our planning process, the region was divided into five subregions based on areas of similar landscape and land uses. The subregional descriptions provide an understanding of the natural resources, systems and drivers across the Eyre Peninsula. The five subregional descriptions are:

  • Spencer (Whyalla);
  • Central Eyre (includes Cowell, Cleve, Kimba, Wudinna and Lock);
  • Far West (includes Ceduna, Streaky Bay, Minnipa, Venus Bay and Smoky Bay);
  • Southern (includes Port Lincoln, Tumby Bay, Cummins and Coffin Bay); and
  • Musgrave (includes the towns of Elliston and Lock).

Control policies

Our three control policies detail the Board’s policies and procedures for:

The below video was created during our consultation period for the 2017-2027 Strategic Plan. 



For general inquiries, please email us at or call on 8688 3200 during business hours (9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday).


More information