New head for Eyre Peninsula Natural Resources Management Board

News article |

Diana Laube has been appointed as the next Presiding Member of the Eyre Peninsula Natural Resources Management Board.

Lower Eyre Peninsula resident and current Eyre Peninsula Natural Resources Management (NRM) Board member Diana Laube has been appointed as the next Presiding Member of the Board.

Group Executive Director Partnerships and Stewardships, John Schutz has announced that Ms Laube replaced outgoing Presiding Member Heather Baldock on 14 April 2015.

Mr Schutz said Ms Laube first joined the board in 6 June 2013 and has been a strong voice on the Board’s Risk and Audit Committee.

"Ms Laube has also been actively involved in a number of major NRM initiatives such as the development of the region’s draft water allocation plan and the Regional Climate Change Adaptation Plan," Mr Schutz said.

"She recently retired after serving as the Executive Officer of the Eyre Peninsula Local Government Association.

"Prior to that she had a career in education and finance, mostly within regional local government; and she is also currently a councillor for the Lower Eyre Peninsula District Council."

Ms Laube said she is looking forward to leading the Board and region over the coming years.

"Following on from the excellent work of Heather, I’ll be working hard to complete the regional NRM and water allocation plans, and to further building the Board’s relationship with local government and industry," Ms Laube said.

"I’ll also continue to deliver and facilitate projects that protect and enhance our natural resources and align NRM with the Premier’s 10 economic priorities for the state."

Mr Schutz has paid tribute to outgoing Presiding Member Heather Baldock who has held the position for the past four years.

"Ms Baldock came to the Board with an extensive history of leadership in the agricultural and regional tourism sectors," Mr Schutz said.

"During her time with the Board, she has been instrumental in ensuring sound leadership and in leading change both within the Board itself and within the broader community.

"Some of Ms Baldock’s achievements include overseeing the new Draft Water Allocation Plan for the Southern Basins and Musgrave Prescribed Wells Areas;

leading the board through the integration of NRM and Environment Department Services; and serving as a member of the Eyre Peninsula Integrated Climate Change Agreement (EPICCA) Committee, which developed the first Regional Climate Change Adaptation Plan."

More information on Ms Baldock and Ms Laube can be found on the Natural Resources Eyre Peninsula website.

More stories

  1. Revision of Eyre Peninsula Water Allocation Plan to commence

    News article | 11 Apr. 2024
  2. Improvements to coastal campgrounds

    News article | 09 Apr. 2024
  3. Coffin Bay water quality works

    News article | 26 Mar. 2024