Two new Board members for Eyre Peninsula

News article |

The Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board has welcomed two new Board members this month.

Following the resignation of members Justine Major and Debbie May in 2023, an application process was open in August-September with two new members now appointed by the Minister for Climate, Environment and Water, Susan Close.

The new members are Nikki Becker from Elliston and Cecelia Cox from Ceduna, with the pair attending their first Board meeting last week in Cummins.

Two new Board members for Eyre Peninsula
New Board members Cecelia Cox (left) and Nikki Becker (right) with Board Chair Peter Treloar.

Board Chair Peter Treloar has welcomed the appointment of two new members.

“It is great to have the Board complete again with Nikki and Cecelia joining us,” Mr Treloar says.

“Board members work collaboratively to set the strategic direction and priorities for management of Eyre Peninsula landscapes.

“The Board greatly values people who care about managing our local environment, and we look forward to working with Nikki and Cecelia on local natural resource priorities.”

Nikki Becker joins the Board with an executive background, currently Chief Executive Officer with District Council of Elliston. Nikki’s history directing strategy and program development will be an asset to the Board.

“I am excited to be joining the EP Landscape Board,” Ms Becker says. “This is a very important time for our environment, and I look forward to bringing my government experience to work with my fellow board members to drive positive improvements for our environment.”

Cecelia Cox is based in Ceduna, a proud Aboriginal woman who is connected to the Wirangu and Western Desert Guguda (Kokotha) tribes. She has been working in government for more than 25 years with extensive experience in community engagement, legislation and governance, as well as having strong connections with many community groups.

“Caring for Country is one of the key passionate areas for me,” Ms Cox says. “I know I can support, advocate, lead and work with my fellow Board members to strengthen, promote, educate and achieve our natural resource management plans for our Eyre Peninsula Landscape region for the benefit of future generations to come.”

The Board is now made up of:

  • Peter Treloar (Chair) from Edillilie
  • Mark Dennis from Koppio
  • Helen Lamont from Point Boston
  • Kate McShane from Port Lincoln
  • Steven Milner from Denial Bay
  • Alan Tingay from Coffin Bay
  • Nikki Becker from Elliston
  • Cecelia Cox from Ceduna

Eyre Peninsula Landscape Board General Manager, Jonathan Clark, says he is looking forward to working with the rejuvenated Board on Eyre Peninsula’s five landscape management priorities of water, sustainable agriculture, pests, biodiversity and community.

More stories

  1. Revision of Eyre Peninsula Water Allocation Plan to commence

    News article | 11 Apr. 2024
  2. Improvements to coastal campgrounds

    News article | 09 Apr. 2024
  3. Coffin Bay water quality works

    News article | 26 Mar. 2024