Hills and Fleurieu Landscape Board welcomes new members

News article |

The Hills and Fleurieu Landscape Board has recently welcomed three new board members to its team and farewelled an inaugural member.

This reset of board membership is a result of the recent statewide call for people to apply to become members of their local landscape boards.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Climate, Environment and Water Susan Close directly appointed the applicants based on their skills, knowledge and experience, to complement that of the six existing members.

“South Australia’s landscape boards are vital in helping manage and protect our productive and natural landscapes. I welcome new members and existing members who have shown a genuine commitment to landscape management in their respective regions. I would also like to thank outgoing members for their valuable contributions and wish them well for the future,” she said.

New members in the Hills and Fleurieu are Becky Hirst, Leanne Muffet and Keith Parkes, while inaugural member Carol Schofield will not continue.

Chair of the Board, David Greenhough welcomed the new members at an induction session and inaugural board meeting last week.

“We are very pleased to welcome our new members to the Hills and Fleurieu Landscape Board. Leanne, Becky and Keith all bring experience and skills that will be highly valued as we continue to deliver on our 5-year Landscape Plan to care for the land, water and nature of the region.”

“Their combined skill-set will complement the expertise already offered by our existing members, who have worked tirelessly toward outcomes over the past two and a half years.”

Mr Greenhough also spoke about a second term as Chair and thanked Mrs. Schofield for her contribution.

“I am also delighted to carry on as Chair of the board for a second term. The work undertaken by the board is pivotal to healthy landscapes, and it’s a privilege to be involved.”

“I would also like to acknowledge the incredible contribution of one of our founding board members, Carol Schofield, who will not be continuing as a member. Carol has contributed significantly to the board’s governance and helped us shape our inaugural Landscape Plan. On behalf of the board, we wish her all the best.”

Please refer to this document to read board member profiles, or visit our ‘Meet your Board’ page.

Hills and Fleurieu Landscape Board welcomes new members
Hills and Fleurieu Landscape Board members L-R Professor Andy Lowe, Becky Hirst, Jock Harvey, David Greenhough (Chair), Janet Klein, Keith Parkes, Dr Chris West. Absent: Amy Williams and Leanne Muffet

More stories

  1. SA landscape boards selected as regional delivery partners for Australian Government agencies

    News article | 17 May 2024
  2. Leading the way to target pest plants and animals

    News article | 29 Apr. 2024
  3. An unusual summer for Fleurieu seagrass

    News article | 29 Apr. 2024