Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.

New Eyre Peninsula Water Taskforce

News release
18 August 2017

A new taskforce has been formed to identify and assess sustainable water supplies to support economic development on Eyre Peninsula.

The ‘Eyre Peninsula Water Taskforce’ is a partnership between the Eyre Peninsula NRM Board, Regional Development Australia Whyalla and Eyre Peninsula, the Eyre Peninsula Local Government Association, Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources, SA Water and the region’s councils.

Eyre Peninsula NRM Board Presiding Member Diana Laube said “The new taskforce replaces the previous Eyre Peninsula Water Security Reference Group that was originally set up to oversee the development of SA Water’s long term plan for water security on Eyre Peninsula.” “Alternative water supply options for both drinking and non-drinking purposes, such as for agriculture and industry, will be considered.”

“The taskforce will continue to review supply and demand, the status of water resources and water security, consistent with the aims of of the original group.”

The terms of reference for the group now includes encouraging future regional planning based on fit-for-purpose and sustainable water supplies that support regional economic development. Regional Development Australia Whyalla & Eyre Peninsula Chair Bryan Trigg said.

“We look forward to looking at opportunities to maximize capture and use of stormwater and wastewater, use of water sensitive urban design and what innovative water supply solutions can be implemented on Eyre Peninsula”

“This will be critically important in addressing climate change adaptation, as well as securing the economic future and livelihoods of the region’s community”

The group’s membership includes water science and policy specialists but will also include CEOs and elected members from the region’s councils and the Eyre Peninsula Local Government Association.

EPLGA chair and Port Lincoln City Council Mayor Bruce Green said “It is important that local knowledge and expertise form part of this group’s considerations, which is as important as advice from water specialists”

“Local government representation on the group will ensure there is strong community input in this important partnership with state government”

The Eyre Peninsula Water Taskforce will meet annually or as otherwise required and will hold their first meeting later this year.

More information is available from your local Natural Resources office or online at

More information

Communications and Engagement Officer

(08) 8688 3111