Landscape Groups

District-based Landscape Groups provide an important link between local communities and the SA Arid Lands Landscape Board . Group members are local people who ensure that there is community input into the development and delivery of the Plan for the region. Groups also help people in the community to care for the environment and use natural resources sustainably by building awareness, skills and networks.

There are seven Landscape Groups in the SA Arid lands region:

A map of all districts is available here


Call for new Landscape Group members

If you have an interest in managing natural resources in your district, becoming a member of your local Landscape Group may be for you.

The SA Arid Lands Landscape Board has seven groups across the region which provide an essential link between the community and the Board.  Members are being sought to fill vacancies that exist on all of the groups including vacancies for all seven positions on the new Port Augusta-Quorn group

The call for members opened on 22 March 2021 and nominations will be accepted until 5pm on 2 May 2021.  To find out more about the work of the groups click here.

Please contact your district's Community Landscape Officer for more information or assistance. You will find their details below.

Nomination forms are available here.



Group meetings are held at regular intervals across the region. If you have any queries about the groups, please contact the relevant Community Landscape Officer.

If you would like to know more about our District Groups and becoming a member read our fact sheet, or contact the Natural Resource Centre on 8648 5307.

Group members

Gawler Ranges

Name Contact details
Kate Greenfield (Chair)
Denise Sharp
Lesley Koch
Alistair Dermer
James Kerr
Brenton French  
Proxies: Amanda Michael, Andrew Oswald  
Board rep: Scott Michael; Proxy Kurt Tschirner  
Chris Fulton (Community Landscape Officer) 8648 5376

Gawler Ranges Newsletter

Winter 2019


Name Contact details
Clint Taylor (chair)
James Barry
David Hunter
Tina Law  
Proxies: Jessica Barry, Kate Taylor  
Board rep: Ross Sawers; Proxy Sanchia Treloar  
Sarah Stevens (Community Landscape Officer)

8648 5321

Kingoonya newsletter


Name Contact details
Josh Haynes (Chair)  
Jayne-Marie Barns
Frank Warren
Mark Mayfield  
Lyn Litchfield  
Craig Oldfield  
Proxies: Gina Rieck, Arthur Ah Chee,   
Board rep: Douglas Lillecrapp; Proxy Tim Flowers  
Lucy Goldspink (Community Landscape Officer

8648 5903


Name Contact details
Jacqueline Williams (Chair)
Alice Taysom
Francesca Fennell
Joel Kowald   
Caroline Thomas
Cameron Williams
Greg Warren
Proxy: Christine Lennon  
Board reps: Ellen Litchfield; Proxy Douglas Lillecrapp  
Sarah.Stevens (Community Landscape Officer) 8648 5389

North Flinders

Name Contact details
Ian Ferguson (Chair)  
Lesley Nicholls
Norton Warnest
Ngatina Purnell-Webb
Reg Wilton  
Proxy: Glenys Aird  
Board rep: Tim Flowers; Proxy Ellen Litchfield  
Matt Westover (Community Landscape Officer) 8648 5385

North East

Richard Williams (Chair)  
Byron Crawford  
Nick Rasheed  
Terrance Coulthard  
Board rep: Sanchia Treloar; Proxy Ross Sawers  
Di Makotter (Community Landscape Officer)

8648 5310

Port Augusta-Quorn 

Board rep: Kurt Tschirner  
Hannah Ling (Community Landscape Officer)

8648 5981

Soil Board plans

Prior to the community-based Landscape Board, and the former SA Arid Lands NRM Board, each of the districts in the SA Arid Lands region had a community-based Soil Conservation Board. The SAAL Landscape Board recognises that many in the region still utilise the information in the Soil Board Plans and the information continues to inform planning processes around the SA Arid Lands Regional Plan.