Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.


The region’s ground water systems are classified into three distinct ground water provinces relating to the type of flow system and the surrounding parent rock material. View a map of the groundwater basins in the region.

Local and intermediate flow systems in fractured rock and sedimentary infill are found in the mid-north region and on central Yorke Peninsula. These include:

  • Para-Wurlie Basin
  • Carribie Basin
  • Marion Bay Basin
  • Booborowie Irrigation Area
  • Clare Valley
  • Willochra Basin
  • Walloway Basin.

Regional and intermediate flow systems in sand/clay aquifers include Pirie and St Vincent basins, and the Napperby, Nelshaby and Baroota irrigation areas. Local flow systems in Permian sediments occur on southern Yorke Peninsula. These ground water systems are used for livestock, irrigation and domestic purposes and support a number of water-dependent ecosystems.

Further information