Dr Andy Sharp wins top prize for leadership in conservation

News article |

Natural Resources Northern and Yorke landscape programs coordinator Dr Andy Sharp has won the 2015 Rotary Leadership in Conservation Award for the Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources (DEWNR).

Presented by the Rotary Club of Burnside at an awards dinner on April 29, the award recognised Dr Sharp’s work in conservation, soil science, water management and sustainable agriculture.

He said it highlighted the efforts of all involved in natural resources in the Northern and Yorke region.

"It really represents the work of everyone – the staff and volunteers; I really just play a very small role in that team," he said.

However, NRM Northern and Yorke regional manager Trevor Naismith said Dr Sharp was an integral leader in natural resources in the region, well-respected for his team leadership and ability to deliver successful outcomes.

"Andy has an extraordinary wealth of career achievements, including the successful reintroduction of the Mainland Tammar Wallaby to Dhilba Guuranda-Innes National Parkand the recovery of the Yellow Footed Rock Wallaby population in the Southern Flinders Ranges," Mr Naismith said.

"He has championed Community Action Planning across the regions, which ensures community local knowledge is integrated with best practice contemporary science when determining priority issues for investment and ensuring natural resources are used wisely and sustainably."

Mr Naismith said Dr Sharp had also gained respect within the farming community for his collaborative approach to sustainable agriculture and conservation, and was recognised as a valuable mentor to other NRM staff.

"He mentors and supports younger staff and is generous with his time as he considers this an investment for the future," Mr Naismith said.

"Andy sees himself as the ultimate ‘back room boy’; however, he is an integral member of our leadership team who effectively makes things happen. This was a well-deserved award and we are very proud of him."

Other nominees included Volunteers of the Park: Peter Townsend (Friends of Cobbler Creek); Phil Gillett (Friends of Para Wirra); Don and Donna Reid (Friends of Scott Creek Conservation Park); Graham Fisher (Friends of Anstey Hill Recreation Park); and for Leadership in Conservation, Joanne Flavel (Coorong National Park administration officer).

Image gallery

More stories

  1. Conservation creates connection in Tarcowie

    Blog story | 15 Apr. 2024
  2. The 3 Ps of creating a native garden

    Blog story | 11 Apr. 2024
  3. Mid North awash with cactus-fighting cochineal

    News article | 09 Apr. 2024