Inaugural Northern and Yorke Landscape board members appointed

News article |

Media release about Inaugural Northern and Yorke Landscape board members appointed

The inaugural Northern and Yorke Landscape Board members have been appointed, joining Presiding Member Caroline Schaefer, in leading a back-to-basics approach on managing natural resources in the region.

The new board members all live locally and provide a diverse range of skills and expertise.

The six new board members include:

  • Peter Angus, Peter is a primary producer and the business owner of a sheep stud at Mallala which incorporates native vegetation shelter belts as an integral part of farming practices. He is a committee member of the South Australian Sheep Expo Executive, Federal Council Member Australian White Suffolk Association and Chairperson of their Promotions and Marketing Committee. Peter is also a mentor for the South Australian Agricultural Shows Next Generation.
  • Sarah Barrett, Sarah has a personal and professional passion for rural communities, agriculture and agricultural landscapes. She is self-employed, using her skills in private agri-environmental consultancy and contracting. With a rich history in community engagement Sarah is the project officer for the Angaston Community Business Alliance. Sarah also holds a wide range of volunteer roles including chairing the Barossa Reconciliation Group and as a board member of the Landcare Association of South Australia. Sarah brings with her a practical, integrated approach and is keen to work with the board to create a positive future direction for the organisation.
  • Phillip Heaslip, Phillip is the mayor of the Mount Remarkable Council. He is a primary producer and the owner of a working property producing cereals, legumes and livestock. He works as an auditor for an export supply chain which provides a quality assurance system for cattle shipped to China.
  • Geoffrey White, Geoff is a farmer on a mixed grain and sheep farm at Kapunda. He is an experienced senior hydrogeologist who has worked with the Light Regional and Mallala Councils to integrate environmental considerations and water savings. He has also worked with Australian Water Environments delivering major projects in the Riverland. He was an inaugural member of the South Australian Murray-Darling Basin Rangelands Natural Resources Management Group (NRM).
  • Jane Greenslade, Jane is a Yorke Peninsula farmer with a commitment to sustainable production of grain crops and cattle, surrounded by shelter belts. She is a member of the Agricultural Bureau of South Australia, the SA Crawford Fund, Rabobank Client Council and Trees for Life and is a Nuffield scholar.
  • Anna Baum, Anna is a project officer with the Clare Valley Wine and Grape Association and has a vineyard in the Clare Valley. She has a Bachelor of Agriculture and a Bachelor of Viticulture and previously worked for the Minister for Primary Industries in Western Australia.

Minister for Environment and Water David Speirs said the new Landscape boards will be partnering with community groups, local government and industry to ensure our state’s regional landscapes and farming industries are thriving, resilient and sustainable.

“The Marshall Liberal Government promised a stronger, back-to-basics system with an emphasis on effective water management, pest plant and animal control and soil and land management,” said Minister Speirs.

“The successful passing of Landscape South Australia Act 2019 means we can get on with delivering this and the creation of new landscape regions are crucial to giving local communities a greater say in natural resources management and in particular how levies are spent.”

Member for Narungga Fraser Ellis welcomed the new Northern and Yorke Landscape Board members.

“The new board members all live in the region and provide a diverse range of skills and expertise and I congratulate them on their appointment,” said Mr Ellis.

“The new Northern and Yorke Landscape Board will help deliver our government’s back-to-basics approach to natural resources management in South Australia.”

Northern and Yorke Landscape Board Presiding Member Caroline Schaefer said she is looking forward to working with the new board members.

“We had many high-quality applications for the board positions, and I congratulate the successful applicants,” said Ms Schaefer.

“I look forward to working with these like-minded people to develop an organisation that works collaboratively with farming systems groups, landholders and local government to help address important regional priorities.”

The Northern and Yorke Landscape Board is one of nine new regional landscape boards, which from 1 July will administer the new Landscape South Australia Act 2019, including a new metropolitan landscape board, Green Adelaide.

Initially all board members will be appointed by the Minister, but from 2022 three out of seven members will be elected by the community (except for the specialist board Green Adelaide and the Alinytjara Wiluṟara board, which is already represented by select regional leaders).

To ensure a smooth transition for regional communities, NRM services will continue to be delivered under the Natural Resources Management Act 2004 until the new Act 2019 is fully operational on 1 July 2020. To access existing NRM services, visit

For more information visit

More stories

  1. Paving the way for cultural learning at Yorketown Area School

    Blog story | 08 Jul. 2024
  2. NAIDOC events near you in the Northern and Yorke region

    Blog story | 05 Jul. 2024
  3. Invasive buffel grass continues destructive march across SA

    News article | 12 Jun. 2024