Board recruits strengthen community input into regional landscape management

News article |

The Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board has welcomed 3 new members to its board - Brian Lund from Meningie, Tammy O’Malley from Jabuk and Frances Simes from Waikerie.

The 3 new board members were appointed by the Minister for Climate, Environment and Water last month, and will each serve an initial 2-year term.

Landscape board chair Di Davidson said that the regional footprint of the new board members “gives a breadth of perspective that will help the Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board to respond the needs of the whole community”.

“Their combined skills and expertise across a range of focus areas including agriculture, water policy and community-led ecology will add value to the skills and experience of our existing board members,” she added.

Brian Lund joins the landscape board with international experience across agricultural extension and community development. Since returning from living in Southeast Asia, Mr Lund has settled in Meningie, and also operates a business at Coonalpyn.

Hailing from the Mallee town of Jabuk, Tammy O’Malley is a partner in a mixed cropping and sheep enterprise as well as being a community project officer with the Coorong Council. Frances Simes also has strong local government experience with more than 2 decades experience working in water policy and licensing.

Board recruits strengthen community input into regional landscape management
(L-R) Brian Lund, Frances Simes and Tammy O'Malley join the Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board.

Ms Simes, a lifelong Riverland resident, said that she was looking forward to using her knowledge to help drive the aims of the organisation’s Regional Landscape Plan.

“I wanted to become a landscape board member so I can have a positive impact on the Murraylands and Riverland region and to ensure our environment and communities are viable into the future”.

“I am confident that the appointment of Brian, Tammy and Frances to the board will help the organisation to continue to develop the sustainability of landscapes in the Murraylands and Riverland,” added Ms Davidson.

The new members join 6 existing board members – Di Davidson AM (Chair), Andrew Biele, Greg Cock, Sandy Iosefellis, Caroline Phillips and Jason Size.

The landscape board was established in 2020 to manage the state’s land, water, pest plants and animals, and biodiversity within the Murraylands and Riverland Region.

The organisation’s board plays a pivotal role in driving the landscape board to achieve its vision of “working in partnership with regional communities to deliver a healthy and resilient landscape.”

More stories

  1. New Recruit Strengthens Landscape Board

    News article | 16 Apr. 2024
  2. This month become a citizen scientist!

    Blog story | 04 Apr. 2024
  3. TWE treasures water with 15 years of support for wetland biodiversity

    Blog story | 22 Mar. 2024